We look forward to meeting, learning and sharing with Emergency Nurses from around the world. We have designed a program intended to challenge, inspire, generate questions, translate knowledge and think creatively, unimpeded by conventional constraints. We appreciate that what we do, we do for our patients and their families. It is our responsibility to ensure they have access to the best available nursing care, informed by evidence, ethics, empathy and care. We need to ensure that our colleagues have the ability and opportunity to provide the care we all want to give. This program aims to address the intellectual, emotional and social needs of our emergency nursing workforce, all while having a little fun. As Dr Seuss so aptly says “The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

We look forward to celebrating and enhancing our amazing profession with you at the 15thInternational Conference for Emergency Nursing.

ICEN 2017 Organising Committee

Convenor: Wayne Varndell
Scientific Co-Convenors: Professor Kate Curtis & Professor Marg Fry

Join the mailing list to receive regular updates 


The conference is open to all whom would like to gain or share their experience and knowledge in emergency care, leadership, practice or education and is aimed at: Nursing staff, pre-hospital care staff, medical staff, allied health staff, health researches, retrieval or flight staff, student nurses.


SMC Conference & Function Centre

66 Goulburn St, Sydney NSW 2000
(02) 9284 2888


17th May 2017

Abstracts due

30th June 2017

Notification of results released

31st August 2017

Presenter registration due

4th September 2017

Early Bird registration ends



Professor Gillian Trigg

Professor Maaret Castrén
John Lambert_300

Dr John Lambert
Dr Lou Atkins_300

Dr Lou Atkins

Click here to view full biographies of the Keynote Speakers.  Plus over 25 exciting plenary speakers have been invited.



Sponsors will be recognised as keen and vital supporters of the field. Visit the sponsors page for more information – click here to view packages

Facebook Posts

Plenary Speakers & Committee Members

Keynote Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following keynotes have been confirmed for the conference.

  • Professor Maaret Castrén
    Head of the Department of Emergency Medicine and Services in Helsinki, Finland
  • Dr Lou Atkins
    Senior Teaching Fellow of the UCL Centre for Behaviour Change
  • Dr John Lambert
    eHealth NSW’s Chief Clinical Information Officer

We also have an exciting complement of plenary speakers confirmed.  For full details click here.

Conference Convenor

  • Mr Wayne Varndell
    Clinical Nurse Consultant, Adult Emergency Department, MCENA MACN, Associate Lecturer, Faculty of Health, University of Technology, Sydney

Scientific Convenors

  • Professor Kate Curtis
    Professor of Trauma and Emergency Nursing Sydney Nursing School Clinical Nurse Consultant – Trauma St George Hospital, University of Sydney
  • Professor Margaret Fry
    Director Research and Practice Development, Nursing and Midwifery Directorate NSLHD, Faculty of Health, University of Technology Sydney

Committee Members

  • Matt Lutze
  • Kylie Stark
  • Alana Clements
  • Michael Henley
  • Celine Hill
  • Claire Hutchinson
  • Belinda Munroe
  • Kate Ruperto
Committee Reports
Password Required